Driver's License & State ID
OBTAINING A DRIVER’S LICENSE
Every Minnesota resident who operates any motor vehicle (car, truck, motorcycle, ATV) must have a driver’s license. The operation of an automobile without a valid operator’s license is illegal, punishable by fine and sometimes by jail sentence. It is also illegal to permit another person who has no valid license to drive an automobile. Every driver must become familiar with the Minnesota Driver’s Manual. This covers traffic and safety rules, laws, rules of the road, allowable speed limits, and road signs and symbols.
Operator’s Licenses may be obtained by passing a written examination on Minnesota driving laws and a driving test on the road. Application for a new driver’s license or a renewal of a driver’s license can be made at a Minnesota state office location. To find those locations, go here.
Before you can secure a Minnesota driver’s license, you must first obtain an Instruction Permit which is valid for one year from the date of application. Please see Instruction Permit Frequently Asked Questions.
- If you are 19 years of age or older, you must apply for and have a permit for at least three months before taking a road test. This includes applicants who can’t show proof of previously having a license or instruction permit.
- If you are 18 years of age or under, you must apply for and hold a Minnesota instruction permit for at least six months before taking a road test.
- When practicing with a permit, you must be accompanied by a licensed adult driver. If you are under 18, the supervising driver must be 21 years of age or older. If you are 18 or older, the supervising driver must be an adult of 18 years of age or older.
- You must carry your permit whenever you practice driving.
- Permits are renewable.
To obtain the Instruction Permit you must successfully pass the Written Exam. A fee of $15.50 will be charged once you pass your written test in order to send you an instruction permit.
Driver's Ed Instructors:
Students can get private behind the wheel drivers ed instruction from professionals at the Morris Area High School. It is $75 per hour, and the instructor provides the vehicle and prepares you for the driving test. To reserve a lesson with a private Driver's Ed instructor call the Morris High School at (320) 589-4400 and dial extension 2223 to speak to Jeannie who can arrange the payment and reservation with an instructor.
To take the Minnesota Class D knowledge exam, you need to schedule an appointment or take the test online at drive.mn.gov. Appointments can be made at a Minnesota state office location.
Please also bring with you the following:
- Print out of your I-94 record
- Secondary identification document such as Social Security Card or Official University of Minnesota, Morris Transcript (an unofficial transcript and/or a verification letter are not accepted.)
More detailed list of proper identification as identified by the state »
Cell phones will not be allowed during the exam.
Before you take the road test, make sure you practice driving with someone who has a valid driver's license. Take the road test only when you and your instructor feel comfortable with your driving abilities.
The fee for your driver's license is $31.25.
Scheduling for the exams is done online. Schedule a road test.
Once scheduled, in Morris the driver’s written and behind-the-wheel tests are given at the Morris Community Center, 603 Oregon Ave., Morris MN 56267. The tests are given the 2nd and 4th Fridays of the month.
OBTAINING A STATE IDENTIFICATION CARD
As an international student, you have at least two forms of picture identification: your passport and your University of Minnesota, Morris student I.D. card. We recommend that you also get a Minnesota I.D. card or a Minnesota Driver's License. These two, which look identical except for the title, are the standard forms of identification here and are usually required when making financial transactions, especially when writing checks, and at some other times, such as when an age check is necessary (i.e. purchase of cigarettes and alcohol, restricted movies at the cinema).
To get a Minnesota I.D. card, schedule an appointment at a Minnesota state office location. Bring the following:
- Print out of your I-94 record
- Social Security Card or Official University of Minnesota, Morris Transcript (transcript of academic record)
- A fee of $21.50